web analytics
Aug
21

Courthouse Defensive Wall and Lemons Barracks

By
When:
May 6, 2019 all-day
2019-05-06T00:00:00-04:00
2019-05-07T00:00:00-04:00

.

compiled by Jim Moyer 8/21/2019

.

 

Source:

Fort Loudoun: Washington’s Fort in Virginia, by Norman L. Baker,  French & Indian War Foundation, 90 pages, illustrated, referenced, and indexed, 2006. Page 23:

.

Preceding the construction of the fort [May 18, 1756 is the start of building Fort Loudoun], a breastwork was erected around Winchester’s court house, a defensive measure apparently completed by May 6, 1756, when Washington paid Daniel Hiver and carpenters on behalf of the colony.

.

When the first troops began arriving in Winchester during the preceding October [1755] , they were housed in the Court House Barracks at “Lemons.”

.

Troops were again quartered there during the construction of the Winchester fort.

.

James Lemon was an Ordinary keeper at the site of 12 North Cameron Street.

.

In August 1755, one of the surviving members of the Braddock expedition against Fort Duquesne, while visiting Winchester, noted that the town consisted of four cross streets and “for its defense it have 4 Pieces of Cannon of twelve Pounders Placed in the Center of the town.”

.

For the quote of the British soldier in the last sentence, see sources:

.

Quarles pp 33, 36, WP, 3 PP. 374-375, Hamilton p. 36

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Categories :
About Us History Explore & Learn Join & Support News & Events
Our Story War Timeline Visit Join Us! Calendar
Board of Directors Fort Loudoun Tour Donate Press
Contact Us Additional Forts Resources Volunteer Newsletters
  Baker-Hardy House Essay Contest Shop Archive